

# Minutes of the Orientation Meeting held on Friday, July 27, 2007 At

## St. Mary's School, Dwarka

### Members Present:

SI No.	Name of Principal	Designation	Post Held	School
1.	Ms. Laly Mathews	Principal	Member	K. R. Mangalam School, Vikas Puri
2.	Ms. Nita Arora	Principal	Member	Indraprastha International School, Dwarka
3.	Dr. N. M. Williams	Principal	Member	Mount carmel School, Dwarka
4.	Ms. Veena Raizada	Principal	Member	ITL Public School, Dwarka
5.	Ms. Girija Raja	Principal	Member	C.R.P.F Public School, Dwarka
6.	Ms. Sheelu Mathew	Principal	President	St. Mary's Sr. Sec School, Dwarka
7.	Ms. Mrinalini Kaura	Principal	Secretary	Venkateshwar International school, Dwarka
8.	Dr. Sarita Sinha	Principal	Treasurer	Vishwa Bharti School, Dwarka
9.	Ms. Rohini Satyan	Vice Principal	Member	St. Mary's Sr. Sec School, Dwarka

## Apologies:

SI. No.	School	Name of Principal
1.	Govt. Girls Sr. Sec. School, Najafgarh	Ms. D. Chaudhary
2.	Pratibha Vikas School, Dwarka	Mr. R. A. Yadav

- 1. Prayer led by Ms. Laly Mathew
- 2. Introduction of members
- 3. Orientation by Ms. Shalini Yadav, Assistant Education Officer, CBSE

Ms. Yadav explained the literal meaning of "Sahodaya" as "rising together. She emphasized on the main objective of forming such clusters wherein neighbourhood schools could come together and work cooperatively for the holistic development of their schools. Presently there are 130 Sahodaya school clusters in the country.

Some of the areas that can be focused on by the cluster could be in-house orientation programs, sports meets, academic and co-curricular activities, cultural functions, seminars, teacher development programs etc;

Ms. Yadav also described the procedure involved in setting up a cluster, starting with sending out invitations to neighbourhood schools and organizing the first meeting, which have already been undertaken in this cluster. The next step would be to elect the office bearers, namely the President, Secretary and Treasurer. Thereafter an agenda could be formulated about future programs and contributions by the schools. She also suggested that a name be given to the cluster. The cluster could have regular monthly meetings at any of the participating schools.

Once set up, the cluster should be registered. An e-mail could be sent to Mr. P. Mani, Education Officer CBSE, requesting the registration of the cluster.

Ms. Yadav concluded the orientation with the parting advice that all the schools in the complex must equally bear the onus of responsibility in ensuring the success of the cluster. Reports of interesting events could be published in the CBSE magazine CENBOSEC highlighting the activities of the cluster.

#### 4. Election of Office Bearers:

Following the orientation by Ms. Yadav, the Principals of the participating schools elected the office bearers as follows:

President : Ms. Sheelu Mathew, Principal, St. Mary's School, Dwarka

Secretary : Ms. Mrinalini Kaura, Principal, Venkateshwar International School, Dwarka

Treasurer : Ms. Sarita Sinha, Principal, Vishwa Bharti School, Dwarka

## 5. Meeting Schedule:

It was decided that meetings would be held on the 3<sup>rd</sup> Saturday of every month to make it convenient for the Government School Principals to attend. A name for the cluster would be selected at the next meetings. Ms. laly Mathew, Principal, K. R. Mangalam School, suggested that thereafter invitations for meetings must be sent out on letterhead of the Sahodaya Complex. The next meeting was scheduled for Saturday, August 18, 2007 at 12:30 p.m. at Venkateshwar International School.

PRESIDENT
Sheelu Mathew

SECRETARY

Mrinalini Kaura